top of page


In 2021, our Founder, Henry Cisneros wrote an Op Ed in the San Antonio Report making the case for an Arboretum on the South Side of San Antonio.   As Henry describes it “An arboretum is a special category of park featuring the trees that grow in a region.  Trees are spaced along paths or encircle open meadows in ways that invite admiration, study, and repose”.   After a year of taking that mission under wing we have assembled both a highly engaged board of directors and an informed set of subject matter expert advisors that will guide us to the realization of a world class Arboretum for San Antonio.   This effort will be a long-term investment for the San Antonio region that will take some visionary investments as trees will take some time to grow into the flourishing museum of trees that we envision.  

Pecan trees are plentiful in Arboretum San Antonio


Our Trees:

A living heritage

branching generations.


 Establish a special place

to celebrate our heritage

through native trees.

Henry Cisneros
Former Mayor & HUD Secretary, Chairman
& Co-Founder of American Triple I
Evangelina Flores
Immediate Past Chair Tobin Center
for the Performing Arts
Vice Chair*

Leo Gomez

President and CEO Brooks

Development Authority

Fred Jones
Lawyer at Langley &
Banack, Incorporated
Andrew Anguiano
CEO of Southside Craft Soda
Board Member*

Jane Macon

Partner at Bracewell,

Former COSA City Attorney

Board Member
Laura Powell
Managing Director, Jefferies LLC
Board Member
Francine Romero.jpg
Francine Romero
UTSA Professor and
CPS Energy Trustee
Board Member*
Suzanne Scott
Texas State Director at The Nature Conservancy
Board Member*
Mary Jane Verette
CEO of the San Antonio
Parks Foundation
Board Member
Rebecca Viagran
CEO South Texas
Business Partnerships
Board Member
Margaret Wilson.jpg

Port San Antonio
Chairman of the Board
Director of Development
To Be Hired
Master Planning Project Manager
Steffi Ockenfels
Executive Assistant
Marlene Diaz


Luisa Casso, Trinity University

Mark Bird, COSA Arborist

Dr. Kelly Lyons, Prof Trinity University

Dr. Rodolfo Barillas, Prof TAMU-SA

Tom Carter, SVP Pape-Dawson

Mike Frisbie, SVP RABA-Kistner

Alex Gonzalez, RLA, MPStudio

Brandon Logan, Founder & CEO, Urban Capital Partners

Peter Pierson, Sr Natural Resource Mgt Specialist, SARA

Carla De La Chapa, Sr Mgr Climate & Sustainability, CPS Energy

Karen Guz, Vice President, Water Conservation, SAWS

bottom of page